Try OpenEdge Now
skip to main content
Database Administration
Protecting Your Data : Auditing : Reconfiguring audit areas
 

Reconfiguring audit areas

Over time, your auditing requirements may change, and as a result, you may find that the original layout of your audit data and index areas, specified when you enabled auditing with PROUTIL ENABLEAUDITING, and their subsequent growth is unsatisfactory.
PROUTIL AUDITRECONFIG provides Audit Data Archivers the ability to reconfigure audit data and index areas while auditing is enabled. You can move the audit data tables and indexes to new areas, or you can purge and reuse your current areas.
When reconfiguring your audit data and index areas, you can:
*Split or combine index and data areas
*Set new records per block and blocks per cluster values in new areas
*Purge all data from existing audit areas by specifying the existing areas in the PROUTIL AUDITRECONFIG command
Note: You can reclaim disk space by deleting your old audit data or index areas if they are obsolete after configuring new areas.
AUDITRECONFIG destroys all data in your current audit data areas; however only reconfiguring your index area does not destroy data. Preserve your auditing data by archiving with PROUTIL AUDITARCHIVE prior to executing PROUTIL AUDITRECONFIG. See Archiving audit data for information on archiving your audit data.
The following sections provide general steps for PROUTIL AUDITRECONFIG uses:
*Split one audit area into separate data and index areas
*Combine audit data and index areas into one area
*Move existing audit data and indexes to new areas
*Purge data in existing audit data areas
* Split one audit area into separate data and index areas
* Combine audit data and index areas into one area
* Move existing audit data and indexes to new areas
* Purge data in existing audit data areas