Try OpenEdge Now
skip to main content
Startup Command and Parameter Reference
Startup Parameter Descriptions : Logging Level (-logginglevel)

Logging Level (-logginglevel)

Use Logging Level (-logginglevel) to specify the level at which log entries are written to the log file specified by the and the startup parameter. Each logging level specifies a different degree of detail.
Operating system and syntax
UNIX / Windows
-logginglevel n
Use with
Maximum value
Minimum value
Single-user default
Multi-user default
Client Session
A logging level value (between 0 and 4).
Logging level represents the degree of detail written into the log file, as shown in the following table.
Table 4. Logging levels
Logging level
0 (None)
Log no entries. This is equivalent to turning logging off.
1 (Errors)
Log OpenEdge error messages. This includes all error messages and is unrelated to the entry types specified. Errors continue to be logged at all higher levels.
2 (Basic)
Log entry types determine the logged information. Each entry type will generate at least some output. This is the default.
3 (Verbose)
Log entry types determine the logged information.
4 (Extended)
Log entry types determine the logged information.
By default, the logging level you specify applies to all log entry types. However, you can specify individual log entry types with a different logging level using the Log Entry Types (-logentrytypes) startup parameter. The higher logging levels include the log information from the lower logging levels, in addition to the information logged at that level.
You can also use attributes on the LOG-MANAGER and the DSLOG-MANAGER system handle to specify log entry types and logging levels in the client and server contexts, respectively. For more information, see OpenEdge Development: ABL Reference.
For more detailed information about enabling logging, see OpenEdge Development: Debugging and Troubleshooting.